Welcome to Bellington Farm!

Our oldest daughter attended Longwood University in Central Virginia. As a result, we made many visits to the area and kinda fell in love with the rural surroundings. In 2005, we purchased 16.6 acres of land in Prince Edward County with the plan of retiring to the area and establishing a small farm for our retirement. We’re now in the pre-construction phase and expect the site prep for the house site, lawn and garden to start very soon. Hope you will follow us and our journey as we clear the land, build the house, and get things going!!! We are very excited to begin!

I love cooking with honey and have taken beekeeping classes. I’ve also started planting  the floral infrastructure to support the bees on the farm. Will get the hives set up next spring.  This area is famous for sourwood trees, but I will have to wait until they are in bloom to see if there are any on the property. Apparently, the bees love sourwood trees and they make great honey!

4 thoughts on “Welcome to Bellington Farm!

  1. Hey Vicky…I have chives, lambs ears and lavender and that all attracts different types of honey bees, bumble bees and hummingbirds too…We also have peach, pear, apple(all kinds) plum,almond trees, blackberrys, raspberrys, elderberries.strawberries, cocord grapes, green and purple grapes too…This year my husband got two nectarine trees as well.. I think we need bees!!

  2. Hi Vicky, I enjoyed reading your intro. I think I’m going to try the Mango Lassi and will let you know how it tastes. I will try some of the others also. Tell Dr. Page I said hello and I miss our illustrious conversations, LOL. Take care and great job.

  3. Hi Jay! Thanks for stopping by! Hope you like the Mango Lassi !! We miss you all up there. You’ll have to come down and visit once we’ve got the place set up and ready for company!

Leave a Reply

