Corn “Fritter” Scones

Well, turns out today is National Corn Fritter Day. Boy oh boy, I sure do love corn fritters!!! Lovely little bites of corn, flour, butter, egg and milk..and then there’s the fried part…

So that got me thinking… maybe I can make corn “fritter” scones and eliminate the frying part by baking them instead. Turns out, this is not such a new idea. In fact, there are LOTS of recipes out there for corn scones. So I thought I’d play around with my basic scone recipe and see what I come up with!

I ran up to the local farm stand and picked up a couple of ears of freshly picked Silver Queen corn. I shucked the corn and cut the kernels off into a bowl. Then, I ran the blade of the knife along the cobs and gathered all the “milk” into a measuring cup.

So now comes the part of putting it all together.

I started with my favorite Buttermilk Scones Recipe and made a few modifications

3 cups flour

1/3 cup sugar

1/2 tsp baking soda

2 1/2 tsp baking powder

3/4 cup butter

1 cup buttermilk

Okay….I changed the flour to 2 1/2 cups and 1/2 cup cornmeal

The corn is pretty sweet, so I just added 2 tbl of sugar instead of the 1/3 cup

Left the baking soda, baking powder and butter the same (well yeah, butter and corn – can’t skimp on the butter for this, can I?)

I added enough buttermilk to the reserved “milk” from the corn scrapings to make the required one cup of buttermilk.

So now, I was all set to go!

I preheated the oven to 400 degrees F.

I mixed the dry ingredients together, then cut in the butter with my pastry blender. I always like to leave some “pea sized” chunks of butter when I make my scones.

Then I added the corn and buttermilk, stirring until it just came together. I use a big rubber spatula to do this – seems to get it combined pretty well without over-stirring. I let it rest for a couple of minutes while I floured a work surface and then turned it out onto the floured surface.

I kneaded it lightly and then portioned it into two pieces. Each piece was patted into a circle of around 8 inches and then each circle was cut into eight scones.

I put them on a baking sheet that had been lined with parchment paper and baked them for about 12 minutes.

Wow, pretty tasty with a nice big glass of iced tea!!

Leave a Reply

