Birthday Celebrations

Today is hubby’s birthday! We started the celebrations early this morning by driving out to the home site in his pickup truck and watching the
Perseid Meteor Shower until about 1:30 AM this morning. I saw a couple of really nice bright ones which he missed, so we stayed out until he saw a few nice ones shooting through the night sky as well. His birthday and the meteor shower always come at the same time, so weather permitting, it’s become our way to celebrate.

Today’s duty is making his favorite cake for tonight. Chocolate Cake with Chocolate Frosting!! So. I am off to the kitchen to start baking up a storm for his birthday dinner tonight. I may experiment with using some Black Onyx Cocoa that I’ve had for a while. It’s supposed to make a really dark chocolate cake. Will let you know how it all turns out!

UPDATE: Well, I promised to let you know how it all turned out. The Black Onyx Cocoa made a fabulously dark chocolate cake! There are some who have said that using this particular cocoa made their baked items somewhat dry. Perhaps using sour cream in my cake overcame whatever dryness might have been, because the cake was nicely moist.

I am lucky enough to have the luxury of getting milk in glass bottles from a local dairy. Unfortunately, when I grabbed the bottle of whole milk from the shelf at the store, it was cultured buttermilk, and not whole milk that I got. I had no idea that I had picked up the wrong item until I was well into the cake making process. So, the cultured buttermilk went into the cake. I added what I thought would be a “good amount” of extra baking soda, but I should have added a bit more as I didn’t get quite the rise out of the cake that I was hoping for, but it was still quite delicious. The only complaint that I got from the birthday boy was that his slice of cake wasn’t big enough!!! LOL

Leave a Reply

