Richmond, VA Get-Away

Wow, sorry haven’t posted here in a while! Things have been in a whirl with the house building project! It’s nice to see things actually being done and milestones being met to get me into my new house! It’s very exciting.

But, I digress… my purpose here was to tell you about a recent get-away weekend in Richmond, VA. As part of hubby’s birthday celebration, I booked a room at the Jefferson Hotel in Downtown Richmond, not far from Carytown and the Virginia Museum of Fine Arts. The museum was in the last week of its exhibition called “Maharaja: The Splendors of India’s Great Kings” which explored the extraordinarily rich visual culture of India’s last royal families. The exhibit ended on August 19, so we were among the last to enjoy it.

We arrived at the hotel mid-afternoon on Friday. As it turns out, our daughter and son-in-law were coming to Richmond that very weekend to see the Cirque du Soleil “Dralion” show. We met in Glen Allen, VA at the Capital Ale House for dinner. I don’t claim to be much of a beer drinker, but I do like stout beers, so the waitress fixed me up with a tall cold one! Very nice! I ordered the Virginia Oysters and their Spinach Salad. When we got there, my daughter and son in law had already arrived and were munching on a giant Bavarian Pretzel which was too tempting not to take a taste of. Wow, it was really good!

After dinner, we went back to the hotel and visited the bar at the LeMaire Restaurant. Hubs had his standard rum and coke and I had a champagne and chambord which was a nice way to end the evening.

We had breakfast in the LeMaire Restaurant, which is dining splendor at its best. The beautifully restored hotel defies description. It’s very ornate and it’s easy to see why this is such a well rated hotel. We were visiting at the same time as the Richmond Jazz Festival was taking place and the hotel was booked to capacity.

Breakfast for me consisted of a savory scone with pulled pork bbq, two poached eggs and Hollandaise sauce served with grits. Couldn’t get much more Southern than that for breakfast, could I?

Image

Leave a Reply

