It’s a Chili and Cornbread Day!

Wow, did summer ever rush out of Central Virginia in a hurry!!! It was sunny and in the 80’s yesterday. Today, it’s cold, overcast and in the 50’s today. BRRRRR…..

So, I’m thinking a nice batch of chili would be just the thing to ward off this onslaught of unwelcome cold weather. A nice chunky batch of chili with lots of onion, green peppers, tomatoes and beef. Yeah, that will do it up nicely! And, apparently, I am not the only one in the mood for chili today. I went to the store and every single one of the large cans of red kidney beans was off the shelf!!! Pretty funny when you think about it – EVERYONE is in the mood for sitting around, watching football and eating chili today!!

I ended up buying three of the 15 oz cans of red kidney beans for today. That should work out just fine. I like to add a bit of cumin to my chili, along with the chili pepper spices. Adds a little earthy flavor to the dish.

And then, I’ll whip up a batch of cornbread to go with it. That will make hubby very happy!!! Good eats, everyone!!

UPDATE: Once again, I find myself without all the ingredients. (Will be SO GLAD to get into our new home where I will be able to see what I have on hand, instead of guessing). I guess when we moved to our rental home as temporary quarters, I tossed the chili powder and didn’t bring it with us. Oh, well…. so now, on to substitutions – again!!! Aha, have a bottle of Sriracha hot chili sauce…..hmmmm….

Pretty Darn Good Chili

1 lb ground beef (I used chuck)
1 large green pepper
1 medium onion
1 28-0z can diced tomatoes
1 small can tomato paste
3 15-oz cans red kidney beans
1/2 cup Sriracha hot chili sauce (or more to taste)

Fry ground beef in skillet until browned. Put into dutch oven with coarsely chopped green peppers and onions. Add rest of ingredients. Stir all until tomato paste is blended in. Add a little water or beef broth (a cup or so). Cook over medium heat for 1 and 1/2 hours, or until beef is very tender. Stir every half hour or so to make sure it’s not sticking on the bottom. Add water or broth as needed so it’s not too dry.

Ladle into bowls. Top as you like with grated cheese or raw onions. And cornbread…. lots of buttered cornbread on the side!!!

Leave a Reply

