A Tale of Two Thanksgivings

Turkey Time Approaches!!! With a vegetarian daughter at the Thanksgiving table, I’ve had to adopt new procedures for what is set out for the Thanksgiving feast – it’s become a tale of two Thanksgivings – the carnivores and the vegetarians. Lucky for me, the carnivores have not complained when some of the traditional sides are lacking meat, such as the bacon that used to be in the green beans and potatoes.

My turkey stuffing is now made two ways – with turkey broth for some and vegetable broth for others! Our vegetarian is quite happy with her veggie “chicken” patties and all the sides of mashed potatoes, green beans, sherried sweet potatoes, cranberry sauce, homemade rolls, etc., etc. !!!

My grandmother always served sauerkraut at the Thanksgiving meal. Since I grew up eating it with the turkey, I expect it to be there. Not so with the others in my family. Despite my best efforts, they refuse to see the pleasure of eating my “stinky” sauerkraut. Oh well, that just means more for me !! LOL

Crockpot Sauerkraut

2 large cans sauerkraut (I use Libbys)
1 large onion, quartered
4 pork chops
1/4 cup brown sugar
1 tbl celery seed

In crockpot, layer sauerkraut with onion and pork chops. Mix in brown sugar and celery seed. Cook on low overnight (6-8 hours).

Note: If you have a garage, your family will insist that you cook it in there!! hahaha

Leave a Reply

