Whole Wheat Cinnamon Bread

A snowy day here in Central Virginia and with the cold temperatures we’ve been experiencing this week, all the snow is sticking to the ground. Brrrr… what better day to fire up the oven and make some really wonderful bread? Not your slice up and make a sandwich bread, though. This bread falls more into the “tea bread” line of things – in other words, a sweetened bread that can be eaten at tea time. The fact that it is made from whole wheat doesn’t detract from its demeanor at the tea table. In fact, it can hold its own with the stronger black teas.

This bread starts off with some great additions – lemon and orange zest, grated fresh ginger and a generous amount of cinnamon.

Lemon and Cara Orange prior to zesting

Lemon and Cara Orange prior to zesting

From upper left - lemon zest, orange zest, cinnamon and grated ginger

From upper left – lemon zest, orange zest, cinnamon and grated ginger

The whole house filled with the wonderful scents of the orange, lemon, cinnamon and ginger. The loaves baked up beautifully!

Whole Wheat Cinnamon Bread

Whole Wheat Cinnamon Bread

Whole Wheat Cinnamon Bread

Whole Wheat Cinnamon Bread

I could hardly wait for it to cool down before slicing into it. I made a nice pot of tea and enjoyed a tasty tea time treat on this snowy day!

I will be proud to offer this tea bread to local area residents in Central Virginia as it is one of the recipes I’ve submitted as part of my VDACS application. It’s temptingly delicious!

5 thoughts on “Whole Wheat Cinnamon Bread

  1. Your bread sounds delicious! I wanted to make banana bread today (must have been a bread baking type of day), alas I took advantage of the “warm” weather and did some tree pruning instead. Enjoy your bread!

  2. Thanks so much! I love banana bread, too (who doesn’t?), but since it is such a moist bread, I have steered clear of it in my plans – all of my recipes have to be approved by the state, and they have concerns about moisture in baked goods as that can provide a good medium for bacterial growth. So, zucchini and banana breads are out…. As far as pruning goes, my plans are to put in the orchard next fall or spring, so no pruning this year! A neighboring farmer has peach trees and I was thinking to myself that I should “volunteer” to help him prune, provided he gives me a lesson or two in advance !!! LOL

  3. I love tea and banana bread! This looks delicious. Thanks for visiting my Tea Foodie blog and listing me on your blogroll.

Leave a Reply

