Yummy Ganache

My grandson’s birthday was January 30th. He turned two and had a grand celebration at Chuckie Cheese (a/k/a “The Mouse”). At the last minute, my daughter called me to let me know that outside baked goods were accepted. So, I whipped up a double batch of yellow cake batter and made cupcakes – much easier for two year olds to handle than cake! I frosted them with buttercream frosting and topped each of them with either a Teddy Graham or Animal Cracker which proved to be a big hit with the toddlers at the party.

Birthday Cupcakes

Birthday Cupcakes

I made 42 cupcakes, but only needed to take 36, so I froze the extras. This week, when we felt like a little snack, I got the cupcakes out of the freezer and let them come to room temperature. While that was happening, I got a partial package of dark chocolate chips from the cabinet (maybe a cup and a half). I heated up about a cup of 1/2 and 1/2 to boiling. Once it was heated, I turned off the heat and added the chips. They melted beautifully to a rich, yummy ganache.

Once the ganache had cooled and the cupcakes were at room temperature, I dipped the tops of the cupcakes into the ganache and gave a twist as they came out of the pool of chocolately goodness. They were soooo good !!!

I had quite a bit of ganache left over, so I let it cool even more until it was semi-solid. Then, I put it in a piping bag and piped it onto waxed paper, making some yummy little chocolates out of it.

Leave a Reply

