Planting Asparagus

So… the rain has finally stopped for more than a day and things have dried up to the point that I can actually go out and dig in the garden. And, of course, it’s now jumped from being in the high 50s to low 60s to the mid 80s. Go figure, right? What happened to Spring? Mother Nature is being her fickle self this year and playing havoc with the timing of gardening.

Still, these asparagus roots have to get planted and today is the day. I’m putting them at the lower end of the garden where they will be out of the way of my summer annual vegetables. The asparagus will be joined by rhubarb, horseradish and strawberries next year as I build the perennial piece of the garden.

Asparagus is one of my favorite springtime veggies! I love it in quiche and I love it steamed as a side veggie, too. Give me a side of steamed asparagus with a nice Hollandaise sauce anytime!!!

Of course, I won’t be enjoying the fruits of my labors this Spring. Will have to wait til next year to enjoy my asparagus crop!!! Now… off to plant!!!

Leave a Reply

