In Memory

Those of you who read this blog know that I generally like to keep things light, always trying to add a touch of humor to my posts. Today, however, will be a departure from the typical as my high school classmates and I are saddened by the loss of a witty, wonderful friend who lost in her battle with breast cancer.

While great strides have been made to improve early detection and prolong life through treatment, we are not quite there yet as far as shedding the world of this illness. As a result, we lose far too many dear friends and loved ones to breast cancer. My mother lost her life to this disease in 1996. As a result, our family events, gatherings and holidays are lessened by her absence. My family is keenly aware of the need for early detection of breast cancer, the dangers of late detection, and the sadness that comes when a loved one falls to this illness.

Several weeks ago, a Breast Cancer Awareness Masquerade Ball was held in the Town of Farmville, Va. Spearheaded by a team of volunteers from Caryn’s Bridal, this ball was a tremendous success, raising nearly $15,000 for a clinic to provide mammograms for women. I was proud to be a sponsor for this event, and made 150 handcrafted Pink Ribbon sugar cookies for the attendees. I commend the staff, volunteers, and sponsors who worked so hard to make this event possible. And I look forward to being a sponsor next year as well !!

So, today, I am posting this picture of my sugar cookies in honor of a friend and classmate. RIP Genie.

Pink Ribbons for Genie

Pink Ribbons for Genie

Leave a Reply

