A Stunning Find

Nearly three years ago, I posted about a native crown jewel – the ladyslipper. Back then, I found a singular plant in bloom close to our new house in a part of the land that had been partially cleared. It bloomed that spring and I have not seen it since.

Today, my husband and I were taking a walk in the woods to check on some Virginia Bluebells that we planted by the creek. We continued to walk in the woods and came upon a stand of ladyslippers – perhaps a hundred in all. Some had already formed the flower and were getting ready to have its bloom emerge. Others were just popping out of the earth, but it was a stunning find. And I am so excited !!!

Bear Creek Lake State Park, located in the Cumberland State Forest, has a huge stand of the ladyslippers. So large that they hold an annual “Ladyslipper Walk” through the woods to gaze at the beauties. I am so pleased that our woods and its terroir provides a proper habitat for these lovely spring ladies. I’ll post pics when they are all in bloom.

Leave a Reply

